US Ireland Research Innovation Awards - MNC Nominations


Congratulations to all of the companies nominated for in the MNC Category of the US Ireland Research Innovation Awards. 

The winning organisations will be announced at the American Chamber of Commerce Annual dinner on Friday, 18 May.


Abbott Vascular Clonmel

Abbott Vascular Clonmel are shortlisted for a US-Ireland Research Innovation award for their drug eluting stent, researched and developed collaboratively between colleagues in Clonmel and California.



Xilinx Ireland 

Xilinx have bee shortlisted for a US-Ireland Research Innovation Award for their successfully designed software defined radio microchip, an industry first to address costs, power, size and flexibility requirements in emerging 5G cellular networks.



Alltech European Bioscience Centre

Animal health firm Alltech have been shortlisted for a US-Ireland Research Innovation Award for their cutting-edge research on how reduced diversity among intestinal gut microbes can affect health, lead to overgrowth of pathogens and development of resistance. By increasing gut microbial diversity through nutrition and diet, control of these issues can be increased with the aim of reducing reliance on antibiotics. Find out more in the video below.


DePuy Synthes Innovation Centre

DePuy Synthes Innovation Centre in Cork Ireland working with US colleagues & AMBER created a step change improvement in process technologies for manufacturing orthopaedic implants with osteointegration coatings to better serve patients receiving their products.

The US-Ireland Research Innovation Awards are a joint initiative of the Royal Irish Academy and the American Chamber of Commerce, Ireland. The 2018 Awards will recognise excellence in research innovation, creation and invention by an organisation, as a result of US Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) in Ireland. These awards acknowledge exemplary ideas, originating in Irish organisations, and underpinned by innovative research, that have a strong social and/or economic impact.

Details of the other shortlisted entrants are available here. Details of the 2018 Assessment Panel are available here



No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Already Registered? Login Here
Thursday, 19 September 2019
If you'd like to register, please fill in the username, password and name fields.

Member Login

Business Insights & Tips


Jill Holtz
2105 Points
Tena Glaser
1394 Points
Michael Lane
802 Points
Ron Immink
732 Points
Fionan Murray
721 Points
View Leaderboard